Lemon Mascarpone Blondies

Standard

Ever become tired of plain old blondies? I could certainly go for a variation once in a while. So when I came across a recipe titled, Lemon Mascarpone Blondies, excitement bubbled within me. Except embarrassingly, I actually discovered this recipe a couple years ago and have had it bookmarked ever since. Why have I delayed in making these for so long? Well it was mainly because of that one main ingredient: mascarpone, which we never seemed to have in the fridge and which I never seemed to plan ahead enough to remember to buy at the grocery store.

Finally, after becoming perturbed by its constant presence on my “Things to Make” list, I decided to plan ahead for once and write down mascarpone cheese on the grocery list.

I didn’t really know what to expect from this recipe, which may have been another reason for not racing to the store just to buy mascarpone. I wondered what effect this cheese would have on the texture of so called, “blondies.” But now I would finally find out!

In the oven, you could already detect their lemony flavor.

After tasting one, it was clear I should have made that one extra trip to the store a very long time ago. These blondies were extremely moist and creamy with strong flavors of sweet citrus. They definitely resembled something or a combination of two things I’ve had before, but I couldn’t decide what this was. Every time I indulged in one, I had a new idea of what they reminded me of. Ultimately, I came to the conclusion that the combination of their flavor and texture resembled most closely a combination of lemon bars and lemon cheesecake. If you like either of these delicacies, I guarantee you’ll love these delicious treats! 

Lemon Mascarpone Blondies

Yield: one 8×8 inch baking pan

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of butter, melted

scant 1 cup of tightly packed dark brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla

8 ounces of mascarpone cheese

2 tablespoons of lemon juice

2 1/2 teaspoons of lemon zest

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon of baking soda

Pinch of salt

1 cup of all-purpose flour

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly butter and flour an 8X8 pan. Whisk together the melted butter and sugar in a bowl.

2. Add the egg and vanilla extract and whisk.

3. Add the lemon juice, zest, and mascarpone cheese and mix thoroughly.

4. Add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt, mix it all together.

5. Pour into the pan and spread evenly. Bake for 20-30 minutes, rotating half way through or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool on a wire rack. Cut into squares and serve.

Tip: If edges are brown but middle is still undercooked, cover with tin foil and poke hole in center or where underbaked.

Adapted (a very tiny bit) from Simply Recipes  

Leave a Reply

